meet DOS4GW

the results are always perfect

Hi people MY ARM ITCHES

Day 2 of not drinking is going well. It’s almost Day 3. Wasn’t as bored tonight, I went back in to work after dinner because I had a few ideas on stuff that had confounded me earlier, and to distract myself a bit. Distraction? Check. Get Shit Done? not so much. Better than nothing though.

I was reading this morning about all the crap that they put into Diet Coke. Now, if you’ve been around my person for the last.. well about five or six years I guess, you will have noticed that I drink a shitload of Diet Coke. I weaned myself off it last year, but I had stacked on a bit of weight and needed all the help I could get to drop it. So I went back on, I think mostly as something to be doing which wasn’t going for a handful of nuts (oh ho).

Now, none of the shit I was reading today sounded very fucking good. Then I got to thinking. What if I could live without the sugar substitutes as well as without the alcohol? Surely that would be helpful. I might have to be stricter about what I eat to counteract the appetite suppressant nature of caffeine, but I reckon I can do it. So, I’m going to try to do that this month too. It might sound a bit rash, but my sleeping patterns are all kinds of fucked up, and the less ‘omg awake now’ juice that I have to drink in the long run, the better. I don’t drink coffee, so that’s not a thing either, at least not for me.

For those of you who are worried that I am pussing out on you with this health crap, well, you can cram it. I usually spend $5-$10 a day on Diet Coke as it stands. That’s $150-$300 a month. what the fuck is that? It’s a fucking waste of money, if nothing else. Even if I only count for $5 a day, that’s my phone bill and gas bill right there for the month, with change to buy a couple of those bitchin’ chicken and avocado rolls from Lawley’s Bakery around the corner.

What the fuck am I doing? mother of god. That’s upwards of $1.5k a year. on soda. What?! That’d pay for a tour’s worth of flights. That’s the new computer I have been complaining about not being able to afford (if you’re reading this, work people, thank you very much for the birthday money, however, please forgive me for spending it on.. tour flights. what I lack in courtesy, I make up in irony). That’s a lot of fucking money and remember, that’s a conservative estimate.

Jesus, like many things I have written so far, I started out with one thing in mind and have totally lost my train of thought. Well, that was a fucking revelation. A grand and a half per year.. probably more. Probably heaps more. Fuck me, I could probably have cleared my fucking credit card debt with the money I’ve spent on Diet Coke at iiNet alone.

COCKSUCKER.

Where .. what in the fuck, man? Where does this rampant fucking spending come from? What does it achieve? I’m the first to admit that unfettered consumerism can be a comfort (albeit a pretty fucking cold one) during hard times, but… fuck, this is ridiculous.

Ok well that’s about all the motivation I need for that. If I don’t drink soda, I can spent the money on something that I really want.

Like the gas bill.

Filed under: life

One Response

  1. sandy says:

    good shit. if you’re going to make a habit out of eating or drinking anything, make sure you’re in control of the habit. not the other way around. thumbs up. lemme buy you a congratulatory pint of sparkling water.

Leave a Reply

yeaaaaah

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
