meet DOS4GW

contradictionary

I am not good at this game.

Life is up and down at the moment. I’m still without internet at home, which is super totally lame. The boss loaned me his 3G dongle thing, which was nice of him – and I’ve got the tethered G1 there too, which is a handy backup – but it’s not the same somehow. I always underestimate how much of my life relies on the internet being around. Even my music suffers when the internet is unreliable, because I use it for inspiration quite a lot. A youtube clip, a tune from a blog, random noises from a flash animation… it’s the new “found sound”. I have never been great at cratedigging, and since I spend my life hooked up to a computer, I find it very easy to take little music notes whenever I hear something that I can loop up and ‘bash with a rugby boot’. So yeah, when I’m missing the most important link in the chain of my music production, I get pissy.

On the plus side, I’m going away for a little weekend break this weekend, which is going to fucking rock. Took Friday and next Tuesday off, so this week is short, and next week is super short. I forsee.. not very much happening. Great success. I’m also trying to vaguely map my next trip over east out. Definite stops at this stage are Adelaide and Melbourne. I think making it up to Sydney largely depends on finding the right night to play there.

I’m gonna be trying the DJ thing this time, since I’ve not really been 100% satisfied with Ableton for gigging. It’s fairly dynamic, but it limits track selection. Also, I think I could play a much wider variety of gigs if I was just looking for DJ slots – from hiphop nights all the way through to dubstep shows, and anything grimy in between.

Anyway, let me know if you’ve got any good people that I should hit up.

Filed under: life, shit I like

wait, what?

I'm putting together a new album. I'm also writing about it! hooray. shit is going to be cash.

archives, innit